O`zbek tilida In English На русском


About us

The University of World Economy and Diplomacy was established by the initiative of the President of Uzbekistan on September 23, 1992 as the first higher educational institution of independent Uzbekistan on the following purposes:

  • To train highly-qualified specialists in the fields of world economy, international relations, diplomacy, international law and international journalism;
  • To develop and strengthen the scientific, cultural and business relations with foreign universities of similar profiles with signing long term bilateral agreements on cooperation and mutual assistance;
  • To cooperate with foreign educational institutions, state, public and private organizations, banks, and business entities in order to train highly qualified personnel in the abovementioned fields;
  • To enable training for the students and the staff abroad;
  • To study and use of international experience in training high-quality experts in the fields of international relations, including through cooperation with foreign embassies, consulates, trade and other representations;
  • To organize various courses, seminars, conferences, research programs with involving foreign scholars, specialists and businessmen in these activities in the framework of the university;
  • To establish research centers, councils, laboratories in the fields of world economy and trade, interstate relations, diplomacy, international law and international journalism;

The works pertaining internal structure, guidelines for action and teaching staff of the university were done in October – December 1992. On February, 1993 the teaching and educational process, involving “International relations”, “International law” and “International economic relations” launched its activity.

Nowadays, the university has 4 faculties -“International relations”, “International law”, “International economic relations”, and “Language studies”, Institute of management, Diplomatic courses, the Clinic for legal advices, Spirituality and enlightenment center, Information technology and distance learning center, Information resource center, State administration and public law center, Japan and Korea centers, Negations Laboratory, the Center for preparation of translators, Academic lyceum and 18 departments.

The three-step based educational system, involving bachelor (5 years), master`s degree (2 years) on 8 directions and doctorate program (3 years) in three scientific specialties is implemented at the university. Moreover, there are 13 intensive foreign languages preparation courses at 7 language departments.

It is worth noting international relations of the university. Presidents (the President of Russia Dmitry Medvedev, President of the Republic of Korea Lee Myung-bak, President of Latvia Valdis Zatlers), the Ministers of Foreign Affairs (Russia - Lavrov, Japan - Y.Kavaguchi), and Secretaries of various foreign countries (Madeleine Albright, Hillary Clinton), general secretaries of international organizations (Lord John Robertson, NATO Frederico Mayor and Koichiro Matsuura, UNESCO), and prominent international scholars and experts (Zbigniew Brzezinski, Viktor Sadovnichy, Frederick Starr, and others.) paid visit the University at different times.

Prime Minister of Lithuania Algirdas Brazauskas (2002), Russian President Dmitry Medvedev (2009), Presidents of KOICA Kim Suk Hyonu (2004), Shin Zhang Boom (2006) Park Dae-Won (2012) and the General Secretary-of the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Korea Cho Jung-pyo (2008) became Honorary Doctors of the University.

UWED cooperates with various educational institutions of the European Union, the United Kingdom, Japan, Korea, China and other countries in the framework of bilateral cooperation agreements and scientific-educational programs.


« Back


Announcements
  1. Students life
  2. Vacancies
  3. All announcements

Университет мировой экономики и дипломатии (УМЭД) создан по инициативе Президента Республики Узбекистан  23 сентября 1992 года в качестве первого высшего учебного заведения независимого Узбекистана с целью:

  • подготовки высококвалифицированных кадров в области мировой экономики, межгосударственных отношений, дипломатии, права и международной журналистики;
  • развития и совершенствования научных, культурных и других практических связей с иностранными университетами, специализирующимися в вышеназванных направлениях  и заключениями с ними долгосрочных соглашений о сотрудничестве и взаимной помощи;
  • подготовки высококвалифицированных кадров в указанных направлениях, налаживания сотрудничества с зарубежными учебными заведениями, государствами, общественными и частными структурами, компаниями и банками;
  • обеспечения повышения квалификации студентов и сотрудников за рубежом;
  • подготовки широкопрофильных специалистов в области международных отношений на основе практических связей с посольствами, консульствами,  другими представительствами и организациями зарубежных стран;
  • широкого привлечения иностранных учёных, специалистов, деловых кругов и с их участием учреждения, различных школ, курсов, семинаров, методических и консультативных пунктов;
  • создания научных центров, советов, лабораторий по многосторонним исследованиям и разработкам в области мировой экономики и бизнеса, межгосударственных отношений, дипломатии, международного права и журналистики.

В октябре-декабре 1992 года проведена работа по решению вопросов, связанных с внутренней структурой, основными направлениями деятельности, профессорско-преподавательским составом университета. С 1 февраля 1993 года в университете начат учебно-воспитательный процесс по направлениям «Международные отношения», «Международное право» и «Международные экономические отношения».

В настоящее время при университете действуют четыре факультета – «Международные экономические отношения», «Международное право», «Международные отношения», «Языковые обучения», Институт управления, Дипломатические курсы, Юридическая клиника, Центр духовности и просвещения, Центр информационных технологий и дистанционного обучения, Информационно-ресурсный центр, Центр государственного управления и публичного права, Японский и Корейские центры, Лаборатория переговоров, Центр подготовки переводчиков, Академический лицей и 18 кафедр.

В университете реализуется 3-х ступенчатая система обучения, которая включает в себя бакалавриат (5 лет), магистратуру (2 года) и докторантуру (3 года) по 8 направлениям подготовки бакалавриата и магистратуры, ведется обучение докторантов по 3 научным специальностям, идет интенсивная языковая подготовка по 13 иностранным языкам в 7 языковых кафедрах.

Особо нужно подчеркнуть международные связи университета. В разное время Университет посещали Президенты иностранных государств (Президент России Дмитрий Медведев, Президент Республики Корея Ли Мён Бак, Президент Латвийской Республики Валдис Затлерс), министры иностранных дел (Россия - С.Лавров, Япония – Й.Кавагучи) и Государственные секретари США (Мадлен Олбрайт, Хиллари Клинтон), генеральные секретари международных организаций (лорд Джон Робертсон, НАТО; Фредерико Майор и Коичиро Мацуура, ЮНЕСКО), а также видные международные учёные и эксперты (Збигнев Бжезински, Виктор Садовничий, Фредерик Старр и др.)

Почётными докторами Университета в разное время становились Премьер-министр Литвы Алгирдас Бразаускас (2002 г.), Президент Российской Федерации Дмитрий Медведев (2009 г.), Президенты КОИКА Ким Сук Хьёну (2004 г.), Шин Жанг Буму (2006 г.) и Пак Дэ Вон (2012 г.). А также Генеральный секретарь Кабинета Министров Республики Корея Чо Джунг Пё (2008 г.).

УМЭД осуществляет сотрудничество с различными учебными заведениями Европейского Союза, Великобритании, Японии, Кореи, Китая и других стран в рамках двусторонних соглашений о сотрудничестве и научно-образовательных программ.